Pro-alignment Game Glasgow v Edinburgh

Following the FOSROC Super6 Sprint Series, each of the six teams came together to support a Pro-alignment game Glasgow V Edinburgh. The game took place on Saturday 18th June 2022 and was played at Millbrae. Ayrshire Bulls won the chance to host this clash when they won the Championship last October.

It was great conditions for a game of summer rugby and the teams were in their respective colours of the aligned clubs, Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors. Three FOSROC Super6 teams are aligned to Edinburgh: Southern Knights; Heriot’s Rugby and Watsonians and three teams aligned to Glasgow; Stirling County; Ayrshire Bulls and Boroughmuir Bears.

Six of the Heriot’s Rugby players were selected from the Edinburgh side’s Head Coach for the day, Fergus Pringle, with Michael Liness being selected the player to Captain the team. The Head Coaches were encouraged to make up their squad from across the three teams to reflect those who had played great rugby throughout the season.

Photo credit: © Craig Watson

We caught up with Michael, AKA Chicken, to ask him how he felt about the game and being selected to Captain the side, he said “To be honest it was a dream come true playing in an Edinburgh jersey. When I heard that the fixture had been put in the calendar I was desperate to be involved. Then to top it off Ferg (Fergus Pringle) asked me if I would be captain, I thought he was joking so never really thought much about it. Before I know it I was at work on Friday and my phone started going wild. I checked the first couple of messages and seen Edo and Hilly had both mentioned Captain. I was in disbelief. Genuinely thought it was joke until I seen the team. All in all great experience and even better to get a win with some of my Nails mates after what has been a tough Sprint season for all.”

Stuart Edwards, Acting Joint Head Coach at Heriot’s Rugby said “It was great for our selected players to have the opportunity to represent Edinburgh. These matches are unique in their nature and I know our boys loved being part of the winning side.”

The final score on the day was Glasgow 24 – 26 Edinburgh – it was a great battle between the two sides.




George Breese

Jerry Blyth-Lafferty

Michael Scott

Rory Jackson

Adam Sinclair

Lewis McNamara

Connor Gordon (C)

Benedict Grant

Ruairidh Swan

Marcus Holden

Aaron Tait

Bobbie Beattie

Mike Gray

Elias Carven

Logan Trotter

Jamie Drummond

Callum Smith

Calum Henderson

Jack Fisher

Trystan Andrews

Euan McAra

Liam McNamara

Stevie Hamilton
























Harrison Courtney

Michael Liness (C)

AP McWilliam

Josh King

Fraster Hastie

Kwagga Van Niekerk

Wallace Nelson

Karl Main

Rory Brand

Jason Baggott

Aiden Cross

Dom Coetzer

Nyle Godsmark

Bill Wara

Joe Jenkins

Cammy Fenton

Chris Keen

Martin McGinley

Scott McGinley

Gregor Nelson

Jed Gelderbloom

Greg Cannie

Robbie Chalmers

Photo credit: © Craig Watson

Referee: Hollie Davidson

Glasgow: Jerry Blyth-Lafferty, Marcus Holden, Ruaridh Swan, Logan Trotter.
Edinburgh: Nyle Godsmark, Jason Baggott, Billy Wara, Wallace Nelson.

Glasgow: Marcus Holden (2)
Edinburgh: Jason Baggott (3)

Yellow Cards
Edinburgh: Billy Wara
Glasgow: Connor Gordon

Featured Image Credit: ¬© Craig Watson

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *